ADWR Director Tom Buschatzke presented with Arizona Chamber’s 2019 Transformational Initiative Award

Color Logo Transparent- For Web


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                              CONTACT: Doug MacEachern

June 15, 2019                                                                                               PHONE: 602.771.8507

ADWR Director Tom Buschatzke presented with Arizona Chamber’s 2019 Transformational Initiative Award
Chamber award presentation
ADWR Director Tom Buschatzke (third from left) accepting the 2019 Transformational Initiative Award from the Arizona Chamber of Commerce & Industry. From left: Susan Anable, chair of the Chamber Board; Lisa Atkins, chair of the Central Arizona Water Conservation District Board (accepting on behalf of co-recipient Ted Cooke, General Manager of the Central Arizona Project); Buschatzke; and, Glenn Hamer, President and CEO of the Arizona Chamber

PHOENIX – The Arizona Chamber of Commerce & Industry today presented its Transformational Initiative Award for 2019 to Tom Buschatzke, Director of the Arizona Department of Water Resources, for leading the successful effort to win support for the Drought Contingency Plan in Arizona. The Arizona campaign cleared the path for the May 20 passage of the system-wide plan to help protect and stabilize the Colorado River.

Director Buschatzke shared the 2019 Transformational Initiative Award with the co-chairman of the Arizona DCP campaign, Ted Cooke, General Manager of the Central Arizona Project.

“I’m grateful to the Chamber for recognizing the importance of water to Arizona’s economy,” said Director Buschatzke.

“While this is considered an individual award, the passage of the DCP legislation in Arizona would not have been possible without the strong support of nearly every sector of water-users statewide, to say nothing of the invaluable support of the Governor and the Legislature.”

“I’m deeply appreciative, too, of the countless hours of work that my staff put into the DCP effort. They share this award with me.”

The Chamber annually celebrates legislators and business leaders who demonstrate transformational leadership by creating a vision for positive change in Arizona. The 2018 Transformational Initiative Award went to State Treasurer Eileen Klein. Klein was celebrated for her leadership as chief-of-staff for then-Governor Jan Brewer in the years following the Great Recession.

Director Buschatzke and General Manager Cooke organized the strong, statewide push for the DCP beginning on June 28, 2018.

Together, they formed a Steering Committee comprised of water users from throughout Arizona and, ultimately, found common ground in support of legislation authorizing Director Buschatzke to sign the system-wide drought plan on behalf of Arizona.

Governor Doug Ducey signed the Arizona legislation on January 31, 2019. Today, the Chamber also honored the Governor with its top leadership award, the Milton Friedman Award.